The AAZK Janet McCoy Excellence in Public Education Award

The American Association of Zoo Keepers Janet McCoy Excellence in Public Education is presented by the AAZK Awards Committee. The purpose of the award is to recognize individuals, teams and AAZK Chapters that connect the public with animals and conservation through institutional message delivery. Examples are Keeper Chats w/public, Animal Encounters via Ambassador Animals, Facility/Chapter Educational Events, Keeper voices within Facility/Chapter Social Media Platforms, Keeper contributions to Facility Camps.

The AAZK Janet McCoy Excellence in Public Education Award is named in honor of her outstanding commitment to AAZK by serving as the Award Committee Chair for 31 years and on the Board of Directors as a member, Vice President and President for 8 years. In her career as a zoo keeper, she was dedicated to furthering public education. This award is presented at the annual AAZK National Conference.

Qualifications

- An individual member of AAZK, a team from a zoological institution, or a chartered AAZK chapter, in good standing, are eligible to be nominated for this award.
- The nominee(s) **must** be Professional Members of AAZK, in good standing, and work in any North American zoological institution or organization.
- The public education is to be **above and beyond** typified programs and achievements of current professional and industry standards.

Nomination Procedure

- Nominate an AAZK member or AAZK Chapter by completion of the Nomination Form which includes the nominee's name and position (if applicable), the facilities contact and Director information.
- Nominations should include **supportive documentation** for the committee to review, this may include any supplemental digital media that reinforces the speaking message as delivered to the public.
- Completed nomination packet (nomination form and supporting documents) may be submitted beginning January 1st and no later than the deadline: **MAY 1st** of each year.

Verification of the nomination requires a signature from the Director/CEO of the facility or their representative.

Selection Procedure

The Awards Committee members will independently review each nominee.